June 10, 2004


All this media coverage of Ronald Reagan led me to realize that I couldn't remember who he defeated in the election for his second term.

Here's a list of all the Presidential Election losers since 1960.

1960 Richard Nixon
1964 Barry Goldwater
1968 Hubert Humphrey
1972 George McGovern
1976 Gerald Ford
1980 Jimmy Carter
1984 Walter Mondale *
1988 Michael Dukakis
1992 George HW Bush
1996 Robert Dole *
2000 George W Bush, err, Al Gore

* these are the ones I had to look up.

In looking up '84 and '96, I was reminded that there were often candidates beyond the second major party. In keeping with the trivial nature of this posting, I'm ignoring those candidates, although they are certainly losers too.

Here's a fact-filled website with all sorts of stats about past presidential elections.

Posted by jackhodgson at June 10, 2004 11:27 AM